full screen background image
Thursday 22 February 2024
  • :
  • :

Meet the T20 Global League Franchise Owners

Meet the T20 Global League Franchise Owners

New South African Cricket League attracts big investors

LONDON – Cricket South Africa (CSA) today officially announced the successful eight Team Owners who, in a clear vote of confidence in South Africa’s new T20 Global League, have earned the right to be part of cricketing history.

After much anticipation and with excitement at an all-time high, the reveal took place at a well-attended industry launch event at London’s most prestigious hotel, The Bvlgari, London. The event set the tone for a new standard in T20 cricket.

EY (previously known as Ernst & Young) ran the team owner selection process to ensure integrity, compliance and due diligence was followed throughout the process by both CSA and potential owners.

“Competition was stiff, with more than 150 Expressions of Interest (EOI) received from around the world and a shortlist of heavy hitters to consider, but after rigorous discussions and engagement with each of the potential owners, we are certain that our final eight owners have the perfect combination of strategic insight and passion needed to make the first T20 Global League a complete success,” said CSA President, Chris Nenzani.

The official eight team owners, host cities and marquee players are:

1. Shah Rukh Khan

2. Mr Fawad Rana

3. GMR Group

4. Mr Javed Afridi

5. Mr Osman Osman

6. Mr Ajay Sethi

7. Mr Mustaq Brey

8. Mr Sushil Kumar


Lahore Qalandars

Delhi Daredevils

My Sports World / Peshawar Zalmi

SA Consortium

Channel 2

Brimstone Investment Corporation

City Sports

Cape Town





Port Elizabeth



JP Duminy

Hashim Amla

Kagiso Rabada

Quinton de Kock

AB de Villiers

Imran Tahir

Faf du Plessis

David Miller

Joining the owners will be the eight Protea Marquee Players who have now been assigned to a team on the basis of the city they have historically been associated with or a city they will be able to build a strong association with. Alongside the Protea marquee players, the eight International marquee players that were previously announced will help drive the global spirit of competition as the franchises battle for top spot.

“The announcement of the team owners is a key milestone to successfully launch our T20 Global League,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “We are thrilled by the international mix of owners and the passion and excitement that was clearly demonstrated during the bidding process by them and the marquee players. It sets up our #T20GL as a fans favourite in the cricketing calendar.”

The player draft is scheduled for 19 August, with almost 400 players from 10 countries confirming their interest.

Join in the T20 Global League conversation by using the hashtag #T20GL. Follow all the updates via our social pages:

§ Twitter: T20GL_

§ Facebook: T20 Global League

§ Instagram: @t20globalleague

§ YouTube: T20 Global League



Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.

It initially operated under the name of the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCB) which came into being on 29 June 1991, following completion of the unity process between the South African Cricket Union (SACU) and the South African Cricket Board (SACB). CSA was formed in 2002 and ran parallel to UCB, with the UCB responsible for the administration of amateur cricket and CSA responsible for professional cricket. As a result of changes in the tax laws, UCB was amalgamated into CSA in 2008.

CSA is conducted on a non-profit basis with the intent and purpose that its capital and income, from whatever sources, shall be applied solely towards the promotion of its objective and the advancement of cricket in South Africa contributing towards the sustainability and growth of cricket in the regions of its respective Members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *